Ohio v. Florida

Baki
4 min readApr 28, 2021

--

[A heated discussion wasn’t going well between Florida and Ohio…]

Ohio: “I think your argument is incredibly weak because you were emotionally hurt. Not everything is a personal attack.”

Florida: “I’m objective. But I’m not in this case. And I’m fine with that. It doesn’t mean I don’t understand the objectivity. I am just choosing not to agree with it.”

Ohio: “Let me clarify. You saw them mourn his life but what you are saying comes off as a way to corroborate the way you think and feel. Maybe even hatred that you have. Is it really about what happened to him, or just you?”

Florida: “What I am saying is why do my feelings have to be objective here in order to be acceptable?”

[Out of love, they decided to freeze the conversation and play cards to temper the tension]

Photograph taken by Blvk Shots Photography. All rights reserved.

Florida: “Go fish.”

Ohio: “This game is boring.”

Florida: “It’s a classic.”

Ohio: “But it’s boring. Here, let’s play Wine Pong.”

[So, they play the wine version of Beer Pong]

Photograph taken by Blvk Shots Photography. All rights reserved.

Florida: “Just imagine, you know? Being stabbed and killed with an ice pick. It’s terrible. He deserved to go to prison for doing that. Who attacks someone for walking around with a snowball and an ice cream cone; claiming they’re a thug? For walking! It was murder. Dammit, I barely missed the cup.”

“Well, I’d stab you with a switchblade, not an ice pick. So, what’s the problem?” — Ohio

[Being a sucker for morbid jokes, Florida let’s out a chuckle]

Florida: “That made me smile. Listen, I know we are okay, but I’m honestly still upset. It’s just a sensitive topic for me. It’s an existential experience. What if a racist eskimo stabs me next time, you know?”

Ohio: “I understand. And you have the space to feel that way. I actually agree with your views but we’re lawyers. I have to make some objective sense out of the way you’re speaking. But you know it’s safe here with me and you can take the time you need. Score! Drink up.”

[Florida chugs two cups]

Florida: “That means more than you know. It helps that I can be vulnerable and it’s not just something I have to hope for every time we have a tough conversation. Opening up isn’t easy.”

Ohio: “I’ll always give you space when you ask. Your mental health is far more important than me playing devil’s advocate or creating a mountain out of a mole hill.”

Florida: [laughs] I have never heard that phrase before. That’s amusing. Y’all have mole hills up there? We just have alligators down here. Score. You drink up.”

[Ohio chugs a cup and let’s out a belch]

Ohio: “Yea, Border Collies can sniff them out underground. One day my dog Clyde caught one, and another time Bonnie brought back a dead one. But they both have passed away now...”

Florida: [smirking] “That’s some country shit. Pause. They were named Bonnie and Clyde?”

Ohio: [smiles] “Yea. They were. Score! Drink up.”

[Florida picks up his cup but puts it back down on the table and begins to pull Ohio’s chair, with her in it, around the short table towards him]

Ohio: “Hey! No cheating!”

Florida: “Fuck this game. I’m feeling better and I want to hold you. Be with me. How about an eskimo kiss?”

[Ohio blushes as Florida snuggles her face]

Florida: “Talking about those things makes me very emotional but I like how I feel when I’m with you. To me, that feels like you really care about me and you waited it out. I can’t really express how much that made me want to make us work even though I already feel that way. I just appreciate you giving me the space to actually have feelings.”

Ohio: “I miss you even when I’m with you.”

“I don’t feel like I have to change the topic to accommodate you and figure it out by myself later. You know?” — Florida

Ohio: “I know. Thank you for being genuine and sincere. I really adore you.”

Florida: “Thank you for seeing me the way you do.”

Photograph taken by Blvk Shots Photography. All rights reserved.

Correspondence concerning this written work should be addressed to

“Baki”

--

--